Where Did You Sleep Last Night?: A Personal History

ISBN13: 9780312429393
Release Date: March 30th 2010
Published by: Picador
Pages: 208

When Danzy Senna's parents married in 1968, they seemed poised to defy history: two beautiful young American writers from wildly divergent backgrounds—a white woman with a blue-blood Bostonian lineage and a black man, the son of a struggling single mother and an unknown father. When their marriage disintegrated eight years later, the violent, traumatic split felt all the more tragic for the hopeful symbolism it had once borne.

Decades later, Senna looks back not only at her parents' divorce but at the histories that they had tried so hard to overcome. In the tradition of James McBride's The Color of Water, Where Did You Sleep Last Night? is "a stunningly rendered personal heritage that mirrors the complexities of race, class, and ethnicity in the United States" (Booklist).

More work like this

Book Conversation on May We Forever Stand: A History of the Black National Anthem
Imani Perry, Kinohi Nishikawa
Conversations with Maya Angelou
Claudia Tate
The Difficult Miracle: The Living Legacy of June Jordan
Imani Perry
Reimagining Science and Technology
Eddie S. Glaude, Jr., Ruha Benjamin

Upcoming Events

Walking Histories: Race and Protest at Princeton and in Trenton
May 31, 2018 @ 3:00 pm
AAS Reunions Mixer
Jun 1, 2018 @ 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Class Day 2018
Jun 4, 2018 @ 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Senator Cory Booker To Deliver Class Day Address
Jun 4, 2018 @ 10:30 am
Nell Painter—Old in Art School
Jun 21, 2018 @ 6:00 pm
i am my ancestors’ wildest dreams: contemporary cultures of black impossibility
Oct 18, 2018 - Oct 20, 2018